Foul Madammes

On a recent trip to Oman I had some delicious food including Gulf Shakshouka in Muscat, fresh Kingfish in Tiwi and Foul Madammes in Ras Al Jinz.

IMG_6264

Foul Madammes, or Ful Medames, originates from Eygpt and I have had a few versions of the dish since moving to the Middle East where it is commonly found on breakfast menus. Some versions are spicier than others but this version I have made has a more mellow and sweeter flavour thanks to sautéed onion and garlic and then depending on your tastes you can optionally add chilli upon serving.

Foul Madammes

You will need:

A mixture of Fava beans, Kidney beans & Chickpeas – buy them pre-cooked or luckily for me my local deli has a self-service salad counter that allows you to choose your own quantity of these pre-cooked which I did so thereby I cannot tell you exactly how much I used but it was roughly 2-2.5 cans worth of cooked beans.

1 red onion

2 cloves of garlic

4 tomatoes

1 tsp cumin

1 tbsp coconut oil for frying

I find the beans own natural taste salty enough so I didn’t use salt and pepper in this recipe but feel free to adjust seasoning to your own taste preferences.

What to do:

Sautée onion and garlic in 1 tbsp coconut oil over medium heat.

Add the chopped tomatoes and allow to simmer and cook down for 10 minutes with the saucepan lid on.

Remove the lid and add the beans, mixing well and allow to cook for another 5-10 minutes on low-medium heat stirring frequently.

To Serve:

Enjoy as I did with fresh parsley, a sprinkle of chopped chilli to add some heat, a boiled egg and a slice of my Wheat-Free Bread for dunking in and mopping up the tasty tomato sauce.

IMG_6256

Alternatively you could make a well in the beans while still in the pan crack an egg into this space and have your own Shakshouka/Skillet Eggs Dish, like one I previously post about. Find that recipe here. 

Leave a Reply

