Eat Your (Sea)-Veggies!

In my previous Wrap & Roll post I told you I would be sharing other sea vegetable dishes so here we are!

 I like to use include dilisk/dulse, kelp, sea lettuce and arame in both cold and warm salad dishes. They great thing about seaweed is not only their amazing nutritional benefits – high protein, mineral, iron, fibre and iodine – but they are inexpensive to buy. I picked up a small bag of Irish company Carraig Fhada’s Dilisk (more commonly known as dulse) seaweed in my local health store for just over €2! (Thats approx, 9AED for U.A.E. readers).

IMG_6312

***

Arame, which can be found in dried thin strips, works partcularly well with root vegetable flavours and I  love it on my Roasted Sweet Potato Soup.

images***

 For salads kelp, dulse and sea lettuce are my favourite. Refresh dried seaweed under water and then enjoy as they are, or crisp them under the grill for 2-3 minutes for a delicious warm salad alternative.

***

IMG_3991

Comptoir 102 café here in Dubai do a beautiful cold seaweed salad with avocado, sprouts, crackers and bi-coloured sesame seeds or try out my Dilisk Seaweed (& food) Salad below.

***

IMG_6308

Warm Prawn & Dilisk Seaweed Salad

Crisp some dulse seaweed for 2-3 minutes under the grill.

While that’s happening, fry 2 cloves of garlic for 1-2 minutes in coconut oil before adding fresh un-cooked prawns with some salt, pepper and dried chilli flakes.

The prawns take between 4-8 minutes to cook depending on size so while they are sizzling away, top your now crisped seaweed with some avocado and pomegranate seeds and then spoon your garlicky prawns on top with some fresh herbs!

I love how the coconut oil cooked prawns provide their own garlic-chili-oil dressing!

Leave a Reply

