Skillet Eggs

Like I’ve mentioned many times before breakfast is my favourite meal of the day and on weekends I like to make something a bit more special so last weekend I decided eggs were on the menu. I made up this recipe as I went and it turned out really delicious. The ingredients I used were those that I had in my fridge/freezer at the time of making but could be easily substituted with whatever you have such as green peas, kidney beans or chickpeas instead of green beans or spinach instead of kale.

What you will need:

2 tomatoes

1 small onion

1 clove of garlic

Handful of kale

Handful of broad beans (cooked – lightly boiled/steamed)

1 tsp coconut oil

1 tsp honey

Salt & pepper

1 tsp paprika

2 eggs

Fresh herbs to garnish

What to do:

Melt the coconut oil in a pan & fry onion, garlic and chopped tomatoes until starting to become tender.

Season with salt, pepper, paprika & honey. Cover pan with lid and reduce heat, leaving to cook and infuse flavours for approx. 10 minutes.

IMG_5296

Add kale and beans and re-cover leaving for another 5-10mins stirring occasionally.

Remove the lid, increase the heat and make two wells in the mixture. Crack one egg in each space and cover with lid once more until whites are set and this will leave eggs soft-medium. Leave slightly longer if you prefer your eggs hard boiled.

Remove lid and serve immediately in pan with a slice of my wheat-free bread for dipping in the yolk!

IMG_5304

2 thoughts on “Skillet Eggs

Leave a Reply

