Creamy Dreamy Chocolate Smoothie

This smoothie is my all-time fave smoothie to have after my long weekend run. Soaking the oats in coconut water, as in this recipe makes it really creamy. I usually make this smoothie in a really large portion and enjoy it back in bed with the jug on my bedside locker to keep me topped up until sadly it’s all gone 😦

Ingredients:

2tbsp oats

A third/a half tbsp of maca powder

Coconut water

Almond/other milk of choice

2 large frozen bananas

1 heaped tbsp cacao powder

1 or 2 medjool dates

Cinnamon (optional)

2 cubes of ice

The night before..

I always like to prepare my smoothies, and almost every breakfast for that matter, before I go to bed each night. That way when I wake up or after my run I know breakfast is on hand and will be ready in less than 5 minutes. Soaking oats is also very important as it makes them much easier to digest.

Soak, in your smoothie jug, 3tbsp of oats in approx 250ml coconut water

Then add the medjool dates, 1/3 tbsp maca powder, 1 heaped tbsp of cacao powder & a dash of cinnamon (always add powder on top of liquid, if done in reverse the powder tends to get stuck in the blades and at the bottom of the blender)

That morning..

Simply add the ice, 2 chopped frozen bananas and milk up to approx. 850ml on the smoothie jug. You may need to add more depending on how thick a consistency you like – I love mine thick and creamy!

IMG_7850

**Variation: Add 1 tbsp of peanut butter for a Chocolate Peanut Butter Smoothie Twist!

One thought on “Creamy Dreamy Chocolate Smoothie

Leave a Reply

