Skillet Baked Pancakes (Two-Ways!)

Weekend breakfasts should be a treat and a little something extra special than what you have all week I believe, so last weekend I decided I wanted skillet baked pancakes. I made enough batter (as per the ingredients below) that made two hearty breakfast portions, one enjoyed each day of the weekend.

For two (rather  large) portions/skillets:

1 cup of buckwheat flakes

2-3tbsp flax seeds

2 eggs

2 cups of water (or milk)

1 tsp honey

Dash of cinnamon

1tsp coconut oil

What to do:

Melt the coconut oil in a small pan then add half of the batter mix as per the quantity listed above.

Option 1 – Blueberry Bonanza

The first day I made this I added blueberries to the batter then popped in the oven to bake for 20mins at 200.C (you will know they’re done when golden on top and when pricked with a knife it comes out clean). While these were baking I added more blueberries to a pan with cinnamon and a small amount of water and simmered on low heat until they started to burst and make somewhat of a compote to serve on top.

IMG_5165

Option 2 – Carrot Cake

The next day I again melted coconut oil in the pan, added my remaining batter then added 1 grated carrot, 1 chopped banana, half tsp ginger, half nutmeg and another 1tsp of cinnamon. (Some people also like to add all spice and cardamon for true carrot cake flavour but personally these aren’t to my taste)

Baked once again for 20mins and then enjoy straight from the pan with a drizzle of maple syrup and a dollop of almond butter! I also added some bee pollen and coconut yoghurt goes amazing with both.

IMG_5197

 

 

One thought on “Skillet Baked Pancakes (Two-Ways!)

Leave a Reply

